Laka Competition 2015: Architecture that Reacts


— architecture that reacts.

Laka Competitions invites designers from around the world to submit their ideas of ‘architecture that reacts’. That means architecture which is able to respond and adjust dynamically to the current needs and circumstances. These circumstances are often unpredictable, but their consequences can be crucial. The architecture that reacts is the architecture that lives as a living organism, since it responds to the external stimuli and it develops because of it.

— to react is to live.


1st Prize: 2,500 USD 2nd Prize: 1,500 USD 3rd Prize: 1,000 USD

Winners and special mentions will be published in several international online magazines and at the Laka Competitions website. The best proposals will be selected and commented on by the international panel of judges.

Join competition

We invite architects, students, engineers, biologists, sociologists, designers, thinkers and organizations to submit their ideas. No professional qualifications are necessary. Interdisciplinary teams are also encouraged to join.

Registration opens June 1, 2015

Early Registration: 50 USD until July 1, 2015

Regular Registration: 75 USD until October 1, 2015

Late Registration: 100 USD until October 20, 2015

Project submission deadline: October 31, 2015 (23:59 UTC)

Winners’ announcement: December 1, 2015


Maria Aiolova (Architect, Educator, LEED AP, Assoc. AIA)

Co-Founder of Terreform ONE

Chris Bosse (Architect, Educator)

Co-Founder of LAVA

Giacomo Costa (Artist, Photographer)

Author of The Chronicles of Time

Marc Fornes (Architect DPLG, Educator)


Guy Hoffman (Ph.D, Roboticist)

Co-director of IDC Media Innovation Lab

Peter Kuczia (Ph.D., IARP and BAK Architect, Educator)

Author of CO2 Saver House

Dave Pigram (Designer, Researcher, Educator)


Websites of the competition: